Curfew Now 8pm To 6am — Gov. Babajide Sanwo-Olu

Babajide Sanwo-Olu, the Lagos State Governor, has once again reviewed the curfew imposed on the state to curb the civil unrest in the aftermath of the #EndSARS protests against police brutality.

Sanwo-Olu had eased the 24-hour curfew on Friday to start from 6pm to 8am. But in a notice on Sunday evening by his Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Gbenga Omotoso, the governor said the curfew time is now between the hours of 8pm and 6am, meaning that residents can go out by 6am and return home before 8pm.

The commissioner stated, “The curfew in Lagos State has been reviewed. Restriction time is now 8 pm to 6 am. “Lagosians are enjoined to plan their journey times as they go about their lawful businesses. All schools remain shut till further notice.”

Meanwhile, members of the Federal Executive Council from the South-West zone and governors in the zone visited Sanwo-Olu on Sunday. The governors and the ministers were in Lagos to commiserate with Sanwo-Olu over the large-scale destruction of public and private facilities by hoodlums who had hijacked the #EndSARS protests. The delegation condemned the wanton destruction in the state by hoodlums and urged residents to embrace peace and eschew violence.

The delegation included Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila; as well as Governors Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo, Seyi Makinde of Oyo, Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti. Others are Minister for Sport and Youth Development, Sunday Dare; Minister for Interior, Rauf Aregbesola; Minister of Industry, Trade and Development, Niyi Adebayo; Minister of Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola; Minister of State for Health, Olorunimbe Mamora; Minister of State for Niger Delta, Sen. Omotayo Alasoadura; and Minister for Mines and Steel Development, Olamilekan Adegbite.

Related posts