Names Of 24 commissioner-nominees Sent To State Assembly By Bayelsa Governor

Governor of Bayelsa State, Douye Diri 

Fresh facts reaching us has it the Bayelsa Governor, Mr Douye Diri has forwarded a list of 24 commissioner-nominees to the House of Assembly for confirmation as members of the State Executive Council. This is coming after months of politicking with different political interests in the state trying to make sure that their interests are represented.

The list may have also been further delayed by the dawn of the dreaded Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, which grounded governance since February when the Italin index case of the arrived Lagos State with COVID-19, which gradually spread across the country forcing a lockdown and halt on all human endeavours including governance. But with the federal and state governments in the country gradually easing the lockdown, the miracle governor has now found time to pass on the list to the state assembly.

The list is coming some six months after the Bayelsa State Governor was sworn into office following disqualification of Governor-elect, David Lyon, by the Supreme Court’s judgment 24 hours before his inauguration. According to the list, which is now with the Bayelsa State House of Assembly, three nominees are from Brass Local Government Area; three from Ekeremor LGA; two from Diri’s LGA of Kolokuma/Opokuma and three from Nembe LGA; three from ex-President Goodluck Jonathan’s Ogbia LGA.

Also, three persons are nominated from former Governor Seriake Dickson’s council of Sagbama; four nominated from Southern Ijaw LGA and three persons from Yenagoa LGA. Contrary to speculation, only one person who served in the previous government of Dickson made the list. The names of the majority of the former political appointees touted to have made the list were conspicuously missing, a development that indicated a lot of undercurrents had taken place.

A full list of the lucky nominees include: Preye Brodrick; Esau Andrew; Ibiere Jones; Thompson Amule; Grace Ekiotene; Stanley Braboke; Moses Teibowei; Iselema Gbaranbiri; David Alagoa; Dambo Birigha SAN; Dr Iti Orugbani and Dr Promise Ekio.

The rest include: Otokito Federal; Faith Orubo Opueme; Obosi Churson; Seikumo Ekisah; Maxwell Ebibai; Akpoebidei Alamieyeseigha; Rex Flint George; Baraladei Daniel Igali; Ebitein Tonyon; Dr Igwele Newton, Ayebaina Duba and Gentle Emelah.

Related posts

Leave a Comment