Only Five Airports To Reopen On June 21 Says Capt. Nuhu, NCAA DG

*File photograph of Capt. Nuhu with NCAA logo

Preparatory to June 21 when the federal government has approved for the resumption of domestic flights in the country, Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority (NCAA) @NigerianCAA yesterday said only five airports would be operational while the others remained closed for further assessment.

This further explanation was contained in a circular to airlines, which was signed by the Director-General of the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority, Capt Musa Nuhu. The circular dated Monday June 1, stated that the country’s airspace is still closed to international flights while domestic flights could start from June 21, as announced on Monday by the Presidential Task Force on COVID-19, chaired by Mr. Boss Mustapha who is also the Secretary to the State Government of the Federation.

The circular said, “The closure of Nigerian airports to domestic flights has been extended to 2300Z on June 20, 2020. The gradual start of domestic flight operations will commence on June 21, 2020 with Nnamdi Azikwe International Airport Abuja, Murtala Muhammed International Airport Lagos, Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport Kano, Omagwa International Airport Port Harcourt, and Sam Mbakwe Airport Owerri. Other airports will be gradually added to the network after a review and assessment.”

Related posts

Leave a Comment