How And Why PDP Won Okigwe Senatorial Bye-Election

By Ogu Bundu Nwadike, M.A

For those of us in the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), the bye-election in Okigwe Zone on Saturday December 5, 2020 has come and gone. A winner has emerged, and losers have emerged. Fortunately, while PDP, with their candidate, Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu won, others led by the All Progressives Congress (APC), lost.

This short essay is conceived to situate concisely the how and why PDP, with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu emerged winner. But before we elaborate on that, let’s quickly report that APC expectedly lost because it was an evil house divided against itself. And the sages say that a house divided against itself can’t stand.  Hence, divided, APC failed.

Characteristically, APC remained in court till the eleventh hour, when the courts poured them on the ground by disqualifying both Senator Ifeanyi Araraume and Mr. Frank Ibezim. While Araraume was disqualified for ineligibility by not being the winner of the primary election for the bye-election, Ibezim was disqualified for ineligibility by his false oath (perjury) and presentation of fake academic certificates to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

That was the official disqualification of APC. There was an unofficial but traditional disqualification of APC by the good people of Okigwe Zone. The people, having concluded that their sustainable backwardness was caused by the internal and external godfathers and godsons that congregated in APC, decided to end godfatherism and godsonism in Okigwe Zone politics once and for all this time around.

Then came December 5, 2020 and Okigwe Zone people walked their talk and voted massively for PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu, electing them with a whopping 31,903 genuine votes. That was the way they proved that real, honest Okigwe Zone people are very responsible people, who keep their promises.

Conversely, APC godfathers and godsons in Okigwe Zone, including but not limited to Senator Ifeanyi Araraume, Senator Rochas Okorocha, Senator Hope Uzodimma, Rt. Hon. Chike Okafor, Rt. Hon. Kennedy Ibe, Rt. Hon. Chiji Collins, Rt. Hon. Paul Emeziem, Rt. Hon. Longer Anyanwu, Chief Cosmas Iwu, Chief Tony Chukwu, and their battalion of sycophantic hypnotized captives in corridors of power, were shamed and disgraced by the very ebullient Okigwe Zone people, who denied them votes in real terms!

The rogue party managed to scrounge 36,811 votes, according to INEC announcement, which ignored all the recorded and reported electoral brigandage and robbery by the Okigwe Zone rejected cheats that brought all manners of uniformed security operatives to threaten, intimidate, harass and assault PDP Agents, whom they prevented from gaining entrance into the collation centres.

It was laughable that after all the billions of naira and dollar war chest depoyed by the political rogues to buy votes, all they could buy in all the Okigwe Zone political market was controversial 36,811 votes. That’s the biggest statement by Okigwe Zone people as they ended godfatherism and godsonism in Okigwe Zone politics on December 5, 2020.

The PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu worked hard with Okigwe Zone people, through the now characteristic good democratic campaigns by PDP. The people were persuaded and convinced with the message of restoring the dignity of Okigwe Zone, through high quality, rewarding representation by PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu in the Senate.

The people of Okigwe Zone, their men, women, youths, students, farmers, traders, artisans and all shades of people there, assured and reassured PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu that they will vote for PDP. And on December 5, 2020 they fulfilled their promise.

All the above combined to provide the how and why PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu won the bye-election. That INEC and powers that may be found it difficult to declare PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu winner of the bye-election was an unnecessary momentary delay. INEC will do the announcement at the appropriate time soon! Okigwe Zone people have spoken!

Therefore, let all people of goodwill in Okigwe Zone roll out the drums and sing songs of congratulations for the winner, PDP with Chief Emmanuel Okewulonu! To God be the glory! Power to the People! By God’s grace, Okigwe Zone will be developed, and Imo State must be rebuilt!

Related posts